Friday, April 3, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 : Create your own View !

You are an user in the CRM and you are not satisfied with the common view ?

You can create your own view and share it with other user !


Create your own view

First, you need to click on "Advanced Find".



                        
The Advanced find ribbon appears. 

You have several options:

  • Show : 
    • Query: allow you to modify the standard filter of your view. 
    • Saved View : show all your view regarding the entity you selected in the "Look for".
    • Results: See the result of the view afert you add some filter (You can click on this button without any filter)
  • View : 
    • New : It will create a "new" view in the "Use saved view" list
    • Save : Save your work frequently ;)
    • Save as: You can copy a view, give a different name and change whatever you want
    • Edit Columns : Add/Delete/Modify the column of your view. Change the sorting of the column
    • Edit Properties : allow you to change the name and the description of your view
  • Query:
    • Clear : Delete all your filter
    • Group And : Put a group of filter together and apply the rule "AND"
      • Example: I want all the account who I am the owner AND the account have an email address.



    • Group OR : Put a group of filter together and apply the rule "OR"
      • Example: I want all the contach who have an email address OR a phone number

    • Details : Click to active or not the filter management
Add the standard filter to the query. Click in the field "Select" and select Status for example:


The content of the "Equals" depends on the type of field you selected. To finish the "filter line" of your query, select/choose the value in the field where "Active" is written.
When your build your view, you can choose filter from the filds of the main entity. But it's possible to put some filter from other associated entity. You can only do this with entity who have a relation with your main entity.
Note: It's not possible to group two filter from two different entities.
For example: I choose to put some filter from the entity Activities (Regarding) 


At this moment, you add your filter, you modify your column, etc... You saved it !




If you return on the view picklist, you will view it :




In "My view" you will see your new view ! But only you can see it ! John Smith told you that he is interested to use this view. 

Share your view


To share your view, return in the advanced find interface and click on "Saved Views"


The list of all your view for the entity you choose appears here.



Select the view and click on the "Share" button. 
Add the User/Team and give them some privilege or not. Click on "Share"
Privilege list:
  • Read: User/Team will see the view in the picklist and use it
  • Write: Change the filter/column/etc...
  • Delete: Delete the view
  • Append: Not available
  • Assign: Change the owner of the view
  • Share: Other user can share with other user, etc...

John Smith can now use this view ! :)

Hope this post helps you ! 

No comments: